Operation: Get Yo Shill Together Pt. 1

Well I have a bullet journal now, so I guess that speaks for itself. At least it would if it weren’t for the fact that my mom and grandmother and aunt and everyone else I know has had a ‘bullet journal’ for decades – if you can call writing down a list and ticking it off or otherwise marking it at the end of the day a bullet journal. I of course have the more 20th Century version of a Bullet Journal – or a BuJo as they call it in facebook groups and communities (yes, I’ve joined the UK Chapter, sue me.) with spread and trackers and colored pens and a desire for washi tape. Is it making me more productive? Surprisingly yes. I’m just starting out and I’m trying very hard to keep it at a manageable, non-pinterest-therfore-non-lifeconsuming level, but here’s what I’ve got so far:

unknown-6-2
The front my notebook, picked up in HomeSense
unknown-6-3
My monthly layouts
unknown-7-3
My Habit Tracker with Rewards at the bottom
unknown-8
My Daily Pages
unknown-9
My Grocery List on the left (removable and replaceable) and my Goals Path on the right

My favourite page is the one where I have a habit tracker and rewards underneath it to motivate me. For now, I’ve set a target of any 4 habits, followed for 7 days in a row. And then I can choose any reward I want. I also like my weight tracker as it sort of helps me visualise moving towards a goal and makes me feel like I am getting somewhere (even if I’m really not – I cheated and wrote my peak weight as one measured after a very heavy meal).

Whether it works or not, it is the system I’ve stuck with longest (after trying a FiloFax sort as well as printing the free Passion Planner and getting it bound for £6) so I guess it has the most potential. I think part of its charm lies in the fact that whereas those other planners are only novel for a week, a BuJo resets its novelty every time you create a new spread because it is entirely in your control to change it.

Leave a Reply

